What’s in a Name: An Introduction

thumbnail_lui%20asquithI on Friday 2 October 2016 made the decision to change my name to Lui. When born, I was called Louise you see, but my work, my sexuality and my LGBT+ activism have secured my opinion that no one should assume how anyone identifies, with regard to either their gender or sexual orientation, just because they know someone’s name.

‘Louise’ does not mean I identify as a female, (although I may,) nor does it mean I want to be constrained to the social roles that are still imposed on women today. I therefore chose Lui as it would mean those who did not know me, would not automatically know whether I was ‘male’, ‘female’ or whether I identified as either (‘non-binary’).

Too often stereotypes and assumptions are made simply by knowing someone’s name and too often people are subject to years of confusion, upset and mental health issues due to having to grapple with the concept that one may actually be the gender that is opposite to that which their name suggests, or that they have no affiliation to any gender at all.

I therefore, on Friday 11 November 2016, witnessed by my friend and colleague (and outgoing author for this very blog), Cris McCurley, signed a Change of Name Deed in solidarity against assumption, against stereotypes, and in solidarity with the crusade against global gender discrimination we see imposed in societies every day.

Now, I am not suggesting that everyone should change their name to a non-binary name or otherwise be accused of not acting in solidarity – this is simply something that felt right in me. There are many ways each and every one of us can and do, do ‘their bit’, and every single act we all do is no small thing.

The firm I work at, Ben Hoare Bell Solicitors, have just founded two new family units: the ‘LGB Family’ Unit and the ‘Trans Family’ Unit. These are family units dedicated to LGBT communities – we offer a bespoke and unique service to all LGBT people; this is something I am so proud and excited to be part of and is a huge step for the region. Now, one thing that has made itself very clear, very quickly is that names are a powerful thing; I have the pleasure of working with a lot of trans people who change their name to one that finally illustrates their gender identity – always a milestone and always a powerful moment. Names – and the gender therein – can be just as important to some, as it was for me not to have a gender assigned to mine.

The law in relation to the trans community, and the LGB community, is fast moving and I look forward to providing you with (hopefully, interesting) legal updates and discussion in relation to different aspects of ‘LGB and T’ family law.

If you ever have anything you want me to discuss, let me know and I’ll do my best to answer to it (find my email at the Ben Hoare Bell website: http://www.benhoarebell.co.uk ).

I’ll look forward to hearing from you and until then, I hope you enjoy reading my contributions.

Lui

L Asquith, Solicitor at Ben Hoare Bell LLP

Leave a comment